Date:	July 26, 2012	
То:	Environmental Quality Commission	
From:	Dick Pedersen, Director	
Subject:	Agenda item E, Informational item: DEQ Central Safety Committee recognition Aug. 23-24, 2012, EQC meeting	
Purpose of iter	This item will inform the commission about the work of DEQ's Central Safety Committee, and recognize the committee's members for their accomplishments.	
Background	DEQ's Central Safety Committee is comprised of DEQ employees who go above and beyond their daily work assignments to provide assurance that the agency can provide a safe and healthy work environment. The committee is required by state law, and DEQ has codified its Central Safety Committee in its agency contract and collective bargaining agreement. Members of the committee include union-represented and non-represented staff, and the committee's work is an exemplary model of collaborative work across DEQ programs and divisions.	
	Ali Nikukar, Chair Al Cleveland, Vice Chair Dennis Ades Dana Bailey Steve Kirk William Knight	Linda McRae David Monro Max Rosenberg Jeff Smith Todd Brown Jeff Kerr
Commission involvement	At the Aug. 23-24, 2012, EQC meeting, DEQ requests that the commission formally recognize several DEQ employees for their service on the DEQ Central Safety Committee.	
Attachments	None	

Report prepared by: Kerri Nelson Phone: 503-229-5045