

### Welcome and Meeting Open

At approximately 9:01 a.m., Vice-Chair Sam Baraso opened the meeting, reviewed DEQ's mission and the day's agenda, and introduced new commissioners, Matt Donegan and Karen Moynahan, who briefly talked about their backgrounds.

Virtual Attendees: Vice-Chair Sam Baraso, Commissioner Matt Donegan, Commissioner Karen Moynahan, Commissioner Amy Schlusser, and Commissioner Mark Webb.

The meeting was held via Zoom.

## Item A: Water Quality Permitting Fees Rulemaking (Action)

Kieran O'Donnell, Interim Deputy Water Quality Administrator, introduced the item and the Water Quality Division's proposal to increase water quality permit, license, and certification fees by 3% in 2024 for fiscal year 2025 to account for rising service costs. In addition to the 3% fee increase, Kieran presented information on DEQ's proposed one-time fee increase of approximately 14% to fund resource enhancements authorized by the 2023 Legislature in Policy Option Package 123. Kieran outlined why the proposed fee increase will also help sustain current service levels of water quality permitting programs that issue timely, high-quality permits, and ensure compliance with permit conditions through inspections, enforcement, and reporting to EPA.

Commissioners Webb and Donnegan asked clarifying questions. Director Feldon and Jennifer Wigal, Water Quality Administrator, highlighted DEQ's program performance measures and reports. Director Feldon confirmed that the Rulemaking Advisory Committee meetings provide an opportunity for information sharing, including a breakdown of costs for services, to ensure stakeholders understand fiscal impacts well. Vice-Chair Baraso said the commission will have the opportunity to weigh in on future proposed increases.

> Action: Adopt the proposed rule amendments in Attachment A as part of chapter 340 of the Oregon Administrative Rules. Move: Commissioner Webb Second: Commissioner Schlusser

The commission approved the motion unanimously.

# Item B: Designation of New Chair (Action)

At 9:44 a.m., Vice-Chair Sam Baraso presented a motion to designate a new commission chair. Commissioner Donegan expressed his interest in serving as chair.

> Action: Designate Matt Donegan as chair of the commission, effective immediately. Move: Commissioner Schlusser Second: Commissioner Moynahan

#### Translation or other formats

<u>Español</u> | 한국어 | 繁體中文 | <u>Pyccкий</u> | <u>Tiếng Việt |</u> 800-452-4011 | TTY: 711 | <u>deqinfo@deq.oregon.gov</u>



Draft \_\_x\_\_ Approved as presented \_\_\_\_ Approved with amendments \_\_\_\_\_

The commission approved the motion unanimously.

Director Feldon expressed appreciation for the commission's service and the value of their work. She thanked the new commissioners for their willingness to serve.

### **Adjourn Meeting**

Vice-Chair Sam Baraso adjourned the meeting at approximately 9:50 a.m.

### **Other Resources**

- <u>Zoom recording</u> (passcode: T+NXB2gV)
- July 2024 EQC webpage

### Non-discrimination statement

DEQ does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age or sex in administration of its programs or activities. Visit DEQ's <u>Civil Rights and Environmental Justice page</u>.