

IN THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE STATE OF OREGON

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF WASCO

IN THE MATTER OF A RESOLUTION CONCURRING WITH THE MAYOR OF THE DALLES' APPOINTMENT OF A JOINT AD-HOC COMMITTEE TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS REGARDING CLIMATE RESILIENCY FOR THE CITY OF THE DALLES AND WASCO COUNTY

RESOLUTION 22-009

NOW ON THIS DAY, the above-entitled matter having come on regularly for consideration, said day being one duly set in term for the transaction of public business and a majority of the Board of Commissioners being present; and

WHEREAS, the City Council of the City of The Dalles requested an ad-hoc committee regarding climate resiliency;

WHEREAS, the Wasco County Board of Commissioners agree a climate resiliency committee would be appropriate in service to the citizens of Wasco County;

WHEREAS, it is agreed the committee would consist of representatives from the Oregon Department of Forestry, Wasco County Soil and Water Conservation District, Wasco County, City Councilors and citizens representing the citizens at large; and

WHEREAS, the representatives must be from agencies serving Wasco County and/or the City of The Dalles and appointed with agreement of both the City Council of The Dalles and Wasco County Board of Commissioners.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. <u>Ad-hoc Committee Established</u>. The Joint Climate Resiliency Committee (**Committee**) is hereby established for the purpose of making recommendations to the City of The Dalles and Wasco County regarding climate resiliency.

Section 2. <u>Appointment of Committee Members</u>. The Committee shall be composed of the following nine (9) Members:

- Lisa Gambee, *Wasco County*, County Clerk;
- Tyler Stone, *Wasco County*, Administrative Officer;
- Scott Randall, *City of The Dalles*, City Councilor;
- Dan Richardson, *City of The Dalles*, City Councilor;
- Eric Hansen, *City of The Dalles*, Assistant Public Works Director;
- Brian Reel, Oregon Department of Forestry, Stewardship Forester;
- Ryan Bessette, *Wasco County Soil and Water Conservation District*, District Technician;
- Bruce Schwartz, Citizen
- Debi Ferrer, Citizen.

Section 3. <u>Meetings</u>. Members shall meet as necessary, at least once a month, for at least one (1) year from the Effective Date. A quorum of the Committee comprising at least five (5) Members is required to hold a meeting.

Section 4. Duties. The duties and responsibilities of the Committee shall be to:

- a. Provide recommendations to the City Council of the City of The Dalles and the Wasco County Board of Commissioners for possible regulations, programs, or policies regarding climate resiliency for the community; and
- b. Provide timely and periodic reports to the City Council of the City of The Dalles and Wasco County Board of Commissioners on the Committee's progress.

Section 5. <u>Sunset Clause</u>. The authority of the Committee shall end one (1) year from the Effective Date; provided, however, the Committee shall determine, before its final meeting, if an extension of the authorized term should be recommended to the City Council of the City of The Dalles and the Wasco County Board of Commissioners, and those governing bodies may then elect to mutually extend the authorized term accordingly.

Section 6. Effective Date. This Resolution shall be effective as of June 27, 2022.

PASSED AND ADOPTED THIS 27TH DAY OF JUNE, 2022.

DATED this 6^{TH} day of July, 2022.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Kristen Campbell, County Counsel

WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS:

Steven D. Kramer, Vice Chain

Scott C. Hege, County Commissioner