## A RESOLUTION AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 567 TO ABOLISH TERM LIMITS FOR MEMBERS OF THE CANBY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION.

WHEREAS, the Canby City Council has heretofore determined that it desires to abolish the term limitation requirement set forth in Paragraph B of Canby Resolution No. 567, which allows a member of the Canby Traffic Safety Commission to be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council to serve only two (2) successive three year terms after which the member must wait one year before he/she may serve again;

**NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED** by the City Council of the City of Canby, as follows:

Paragraph B of Canby Resolution No. 567 is hereby amended to read as Section 1. follows:

"At their first meeting the seven (7) appointed members of the commission shall choose their term of office by lot as follows: two (2) members shall initially hold office for one year; two (2) for two years; and three (3) for three years from July 1<sup>st</sup> in the year of their appointment. Succeeding appointees shall hold office for a term of three years from July 1<sup>st</sup> in the year of their appointment. At the expiration of the term of any member, the Mayor shall appoint a new member or may reappoint a member for term of three years with the confirmation of the City council. If a vacancy occurs during the term of a member, the Mayor shall appoint a new member to complete the unexpired term, with the confirmation of the City Council. Any member failing to attend three (3) consecutive meetings without approval of the commission chairman, may be removed by the City Council and a new member appointed to complete the unexpired term."

ADOPTED this 6 day of September, 2000, by the Canby City Council.

Scott Taylor - Mayor

ATTEST:

raune Service

Chaunee Seifried City Recorder, Pro-Tem

Page 1. Resolution No. 741